Dimitrios I. Zafeiriou, MD, PhD (Chair)

Neurodevelopmental Centre “A. Fokas”, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki and Hippokratio General Hospital, Thessaloniki, Greece

Dimitrios I. Zafeiriou is Head of the Neurodevelopmental Centre “A. Fokas” and Professor of Child Neurology and Developmental Paediatrics at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki in Greece, as well as being actively involved in patient care at the Hippokratio General Hospital in Thessaloniki. He graduated from the medical school of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki in 1988 and trained in paediatrics at the Institute for Social Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine of the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich in Germany from 1988 to 1990, with a special emphasis on child neurology. Throughout his career he has specialized in paediatric neurology and his doctoral thesis in 1993 focused on the course and prognosis of epilepsy in children with cerebral palsy.


Professor Zafeiriou’s clinical and research interests include neurometabolic disorders, neurogenetic syndromes, cerebral palsy, clinical neurophysiology (electroencephalography, evoked potentials, electromyography), paediatric epileptology, neuromuscular disorders, neonatal neurology, paediatric stroke, and autism. He has participated in more than 8 sponsored clinical trials (phases 3, 4, and observational) in the past 5 years. He is a guest professor at Boston’s Children Hospital, Harvard University, MA, USA, in the department of paediatric neurology and behavioural paediatrics.


Professor Zafeiriou has published widely with more than 130 articles in peer-reviewed journals in the field of paediatric neurology, concentrating in particular on neurometabolic disorders, neuromuscular disorders, neurogenetics, and cerebral palsy. He is a reviewer for a wide range of journals, including European Journal of Paediatric Neurology, Journal of Pediatrics, Epilepsia, and Journal of Clinical Neurophysiology. He was a founding member of the Greek Society for the Study of Inborn Errors of Metabolism and served as President of this society from 2015 to 2018.